Soak scoops Choice Music Prize at Vicar Street

Derry-born singer-songwriter wins prize for the best Irish album over the past year

Derry singer-songwriter Soak has been announced as the winner of the Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year for her album Before We Forgot How To Dream (Rough Trade).

The prize picks the best Irish album over the last year as chosen by a panel of 12 music media professionals and industry experts.

Previous winners include Julie Feeney, Two Door Cinema Club and The Divine Comedy.

In a statement, organisers said that “instead of using sales or airplay as criteria, the Choice Music Prize judges focus simply and solely on the music”.


U2's Adam Clayton presented Bridie Monds-Watson, otherwise known as Soak, with her award.

The winner of the Choice Music Prize Irish Song of the Year was also announced at the ceremony.

Gavin James won the prize for the song Bitter Pill (Warner Music). This category was decided by the public via the Choice Music Prize website.

Soak received a cheque for €10,000, which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA) - as well as a specially-commissioned award.


The other artists on this year's shortlist were Girl Band for Holding Hands With Jamie (Rough Trade); HamsandwicH for Stories from the Surface (Route 109A Records); Gavin James for Bitter Pill (Warner Music Ireland); Jape for This Chemical Sea (Faction Records); Le Galaxie for Le Club (Universal Music Ireland); Colm Mac Con Iomaire for And Now The Weather (Plateau); Róisín Murphy for Hairless Toys (PIAS); Villagers for Darling Arithmetic (Domino); and Young Wonder for Birth (Feel Good Lost).

The sold-out event in Vicar Street, Dublin, was hosted by Today FM’s Paul McLoone.

Colin Gleeson

Colin Gleeson

Colin Gleeson is an Irish Times reporter