Mack Hansen called into Ireland’s November squad

Australian-born Connacht wing rewarded for prolific try-scoring start to the season

Mack Hansen, Connacht’s 23-year-old Australian-born utility back, has been called in to train with the Irish squad this week as they step up their preparations for next Saturday’s first test of the season against Japan at the Aviva Stadium (kick-off 1pm, live on RTÉ and Channel 4).

Hansen, whose mum Diana O’Shea hails from Cork, has caught the eye since his arrival at Connacht from the Brumbies in the summer, scoring a superb solo try on his home debut against the Bulls and adding another two in the province’s 36-11 win over Ulster at the Aviva Stadium last Saturday week.

An IRFU bulletin also stated that “Robbie Henshaw will continue his rehab programme under the direction of the Ireland medical team”, while adding: “Thomas Ahern (Munster) and Jamie Osbourne (Leinster) have returned to their respective provinces having trained with the squad last week.”

Ireland’s second game of their Autumn Nations Series against New Zealand fixture on Saturday week, 13th November, is sold out while tickets remain available for both the Japan game and the concluding match against Argentina on Sunday November 21st.


Saturday’s Test at the Aviva Stadium is the tenth meeting between the two nations, Ireland having won eight of the previous contests, the exception of course being Japan’s 19-12 victory in Shizuoka at the Rugby World Cup.

Ireland Autumn Nations Series Squad 2021


Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University), Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers), Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne), Jack Conan (Leinster/O ld Belvedere), Gavin Coombes (Munster/Young Munster), Ultan Dillane (Connacht/Corinthians), Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College), Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf), Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf), Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy), Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch), Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne), Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians), Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution), Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch), Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD), James Ryan (Leinster/UCD), Dan Sheehan (Leinster/Lansdowne)*, Nick Timoney (Ulster/Banbridge), Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD).


Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians), Robert Baloucoune (Ulster/Enniskillen), Harry Byrne (Leinster/Lansdowne), Joey Carbery (Munster/Clontarf), Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon,) Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen), Keith Earls (Munster/Young Munster), Ciaran Frawley (Leinster/UCD)*, Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster), Mack Hansen (Connacht)*, James Hume (Ulster/Banbridge), Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD), Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College) James Lowe (Leinster), Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor), Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen), Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD), Johnny Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) (capt), Simon Zebo (Munster/Cork Constitution).

*denotes uncapped player