Harlequins’ lock Charlie Matthews has citing complaint dismissed

Dominic Ryan gave evidence to say he hadn’t felt contact with his eye area

Charlie Matthews is sin-binning during Harlequins’ 14-13 Champions Cup defeat to Leinster last Saturday

Charlie Matthews is sin-binning during Harlequins’ 14-13 Champions Cup defeat to Leinster last Saturday

 

Harlequins second row Charlie Matthews has had a citing complaint made against him following Leinster’s 14-13 European Champions Cup victory last Saturday dismissed at an EPCR disciplinary hearing.

Matthews was sent to the sin bin by referee Romain Poite for an incident in which he appeared to make contact with the eye area of Leinster flanker Dominic Ryan in the closing stages of a fraught and ill-tempered encounter at the Aviva Stadium.

However a disciplinary committee judged Matthews, who pleaded not guilty to the offence, had not committed an act of foul play, following evidence from Ryan which stated he had not felt any contact with his eye area.

An EPCR statement read: “A citing complaint against Charlie Matthews of Harlequins, following an incident during his club’s European Rugby Champions Cup Round 4 match against Leinster Rugby on 13 December 2014, was dismissed at a disciplinary hearing in London yesterday evening (Wednesday, December 17).

“Matthews was cited by the match Citing Commissioner, Stefano Marrama (Italy), for allegedly making contact with the eye area of the Leinster wing forward, Dominic Ryan (No 7), in the 77th minute of the Pool 2 game at the Aviva Stadium in contravention of Law 10.4 (m). He was shown a yellow card following the incident by referee, Romain Poite (France).

“The independent Judicial Officer, Rod McKenzie (Scotland), studied footage of the incident, and heard evidence from Matthews, who pleaded not guilty to the alleged offence, from Harlequins Director of Rugby, Conor O’Shea, and from EPCR’s Disciplinary Officer.

“Following a review which also included evidence from Dominic Ryan in which he stated that he had not felt any contact with his eye area, the Judicial Officer was not satisfied that Matthews had committed an act of foul play and dismissed the citing complaint.”

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
SUBSCRIBE
GO BACK
Error Image
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.
Screen Name Selection

Hello

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
SUBSCRIBE
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.