ERC to review tournament structures


Rugby:ERC will lead a consultation process to review the Shareholder Agreement which provides for the structure and format of the Heineken Cup and the Amlin Challenge Cup prior to the start of the 2012/13 European club rugby season.

Following preparatory talks ERC Chairman, Jean-Pierre Lux, and Chief Executive, Derek McGrath, will conduct a series of meetings with representatives of all stakeholders from the six participant countries, beginning in September.

This consultation process is a natural progression following applications from the Fédération Francaise de Rugby (FFR), the Ligue Nationale de Rugby (LNR) and Premiership Rugby for a renegotiation of the ERC Shareholder Agreement.

Those bodies are unhappy with the current format, particularly the manner in which teams qualify for the tournament and the numbers from each country.

The current agreement, which was signed by all stakeholders in 2007, includes a provision for parties to seek a renegotiation, while the structure and format of both the Heineken Cup and the Amlin Challenge Cup remain in place for a further two years until the end of the 2013/14 season.

The stakeholders are made up of the following union and club bodies that have representation on the ERC Board: the English RFU, Premiership Rugby, the FFR, the LNR, the IRFU, the FIR (Italy), the SRU, the WRU and Regional Rugby Wales.

ERC Board of Directors.

Independent Chairman:Jean-Pierre Lux. England:Rob Andrew (RFU), Peter Wheeler (Premiership Rugby). France:Michel Palmié (FFR), René Bouscatel (LNR). Ireland:Philip Browne (IRFU), Peter Boyle (IRFU). Italy:Fabrizio Gaetaniello (FIR), Orazio Arancio (FIR). Scotland:Ian McLauchlan (SRU), Mark Dodson (SRU). Wales:Roger Lewis (WRU), Stuart Gallacher (RRW).