Paudie Prendergast earns Waterford last-gasp draw in Limerick

Thrilling Division 1B clash at the Gaelic Grounds ends with honours even

Limerick 2-16 Waterford 0-22

Substitute Paudie Prendergast struck a magnificent last-second point to earn Waterford a draw against Limerick in a Valentine's night showdown that had all the passion of a championship clash at Limerick Gaelic Grounds.

There was drama from the very start with Limerick being awarded the first of two penalties inside the opening minute, which David Reidy goaled.

They were level after 14 minutes and Gavin O’Mahoney and Jamie Barron exchanged superbly taken points to tie it up again two minutes later.


Mainly thanks to Pauric Mahony’s accuracy from frees Waterford led by 0-14 to 1-7 at the interval.

Limerick's Paul Browne and Pauric Mahony exchanged points and Limerick had points by Adrian Breen and Tom Condon to leave two between them. Pauric Mahony put over another Waterford free and the visitors almost got in for a goal but were denied by a Condon hook before Pauric Mahony (free) and Shane Bennett tacked on Waterford points.

Limerick’s second penalty was again goaled by Reidy and Limerick then had four points in a row, but they were level again on 60 minutes.

Limerick edged in front again but a Pauric Mahony free, who knocked over nine frees in his haul of 0-12, had it all square at 2-15 to 0-20 with two minutes remaining.

Full back Ritchie McCarthy put over what looked like a winning point for Limerick in additional time but Prendergast had the final say in a superb contest with his last gasp point.

LIMERICK: N Quaid; S Walsh, R McCarthy (0-1), S Hickey; D O'Grady, W McNamara, T Condon (0-1); C King, P Browne (0-4); N Moran, G O'Mahony (0-5), C Lynch (0-1); D Reidy 2-3 (two penalty gls, three frees), P Begley, A Breen (0-1).

Subs: T Morrissey for Moran (28 mins), J Ryan for King (h/t), D Morrissey for Begley (51 mins), J Fitzgibbon for O'Grady (66 mins), S O'Brien for Condon (68 mins).

WATERFORD: S O'Keeffe; S Fives, B Coughlan, N Connors; T Bourke, A Gleeson (0-2), Philip Mahony; J Barron (0-2), K Moran (0-1); Pauric Mahony 0-12 (nine frees), J Dillon; B O'Halloran (0-1), M Walsh 0-1, M Kearney.

Subs: P Prendergast (0-2) for Philip Mahony (22 mins), S Bennett (0-1) for Dillon (47 mins), M O'Neill for Devine (55 mins).

Referee: C Lyons (Cork).