John O’Dwyer leads rout for rampant Tipperary

Limerick students overwhelmed at Nenagh

Tipperary 3-20 Limerick IT 0-5

EAMON O'Shea's Tipperary showed no mercy against understrength Limerick IT in yesterday's Waterford Crystal Cup preliminary round fixture in Nenagh.

The students made the trip to MacDonagh Park without a number of their intercounty stars, including Hurler of the Year Tony Kelly, and the Premier County took full advantage.

John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer helped himself to 12 points, including ten from placed balls, and former Hurler of the Year Lar Corbett scored a late goal after coming on as a half-time substitute.


Despite playing against the wind in the opening half, on an inclement afternoon for hurling, Tipp led by 2-8 to 0-1 at half-time, with LIT's solitary point coming from a Padraig Hickey free.

Shane Bourke and Seamus Callanan scored Tipp's first half goals, with Callanan blasting home a 16th minute penalty.

Corbett netted in the 69th minute to set the seal on a comprehensive Tipp win, as the hosts set up a quarter-final showdown with Kerry in Tralee next Sunday.

Kerry are managed by Tipp native Eamon Kelly and are sure to provide much stiffer opposition. LIT will look to regroup for the forthcoming Fitzgibbon Cup campaign and they would have lost by more yesterday but for goalkeeper Aaron Murphy.

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; C Barrett, P Stapleton, J Peters; S McGrath, P Maher, B Maher; J Woodlock (0-1), R Maher; D Collins (0-2), S Callanan (1-0 pen), C Kenny (0-2); S Bourke (1-1), D Maher, J O'Dwyer (0-12, 9f, 1 65). Subs: L Corbett for Bourke (h.t.), N McGrath (0-2) for Callanan (h.t.), M Cahill for R Maher (67).

LIMERICK IT: A Murphy; B Egan, C Nolan, C Ryan; E Boyce, B O'Connell, M Moroney; S O'Brien (0-1), E O'Neill; M Gennery, P Begley, P Hickey (0-3, 2f); O Hickey, P Ivors, S McGrath. Subs: B O'Reilly for Moroney (29), D Gough for Ryan (h.t.), P Robinson (0-1) for P Hickey (52), G Guilfoyle for Gennery (52), J Lynch for O'Neill (60).

Referee: D Kirwan (Cork).