Mayo make three changes for vital clash with Roscommon

Cathal Barrett, Conor Loftus and Evan Regan to start on Sunday

Mayo manager Stephen Rochford makes three changes to the side that lost to Kerry two weeks ago for the critical trip to Hyde Park to take on Roscommon. Cathal Barrett, Conor Loftus and Evan Regan start on Sunday in place of Donal Vaughan, Cathal Carolan and Kevin McLaughlin.

Barrett and Regan were named for the Kerry match but replaced before the throw-in by Vaughan and Carolan. The counties haven’t met in the league for 15 years since Mayo won the 2001 semi-final en route to winning the title.

Cork have named an unchanged side for the visit of bottom-placed Down on Sunday. A win will steer Peadar Healy’s team away from the relegation zone and maybe position them for the semi-finals whereas Down’s relegation would be confirmed should they lose.

In Division Two, Cavan have also named an unchanged line-up for the match against Laois in which a win would maintain their promotion push.


MAYO (AFL v Roscommon): Robbie Hennelly; Brendan Harrison, Ger Cafferkey, Chris Barrett; Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle, Shane Nally; Tom Parsons, Séamus O'Shea; Diarmuid O'Connor, Aidan O'Shea, Conor Loftus; Evan Regan, Jason Doherty, Conor O'Shea.

CORK (AFL v Down): Ryan Price; Colm O'Driscoll, Eoin Cadogan, Kevin Crowley; Tom Clancy, Jamie O'Sullivan, Brian O'Driscoll; Kevin O'Driscoll, Ian Maguire; Sean Kiely, Paul Kerrigan, Mark Collins; Colm O'Neill, Peter Kelleher, Luke Connolly.

CAVAN (AFL v Laois): Raymond Galligan; Pádraig Faulkner, Killian Clarke, Jason McLoughlin; Ciaran Brady, Conor Moynagh, Killian Brady; Tomás Corr, Liam Buchanan; Dara McVeety, Gearóid McKiernan, Martin Reilly; David Givney, Michael Argue, Seán Johnston.

Seán Moran

Seán Moran

Seán Moran is GAA Correspondent of The Irish Times