Donegal record emphatic win over Armagh

Holders on track to retain Ulster minor football crown

Ulster Minor Football Championship quarter-final
Donegal 2-14 Armagh 0-7

Donegal remained firmly on course to retain their Ulster Minor football title when they swept aside Armagh at the Athletic Grounds last night to secure their place in the semi-finals.

Donegal led by 0-8 to 0-3 at the break but engaged overdrive in the second-half to leave their hosts sagging against the ropes.

A Naoise Ó Baoill goal in the 36th minute spelt the beginning of the end for the orchard county and when Daire Ó Baoill tucked away the visitors’ second in the 56th minute it merely embossed their overall superiority.

Conor Doherty landed seven points from frees and play, Donegal captain Michael Carroll was inspirational at midfield and Stephen McMenamin proved a defensive anchor as Declan Bonner's side marched relentlessly on to the semi-finals.


"Armagh gave us problems in the early stages but after we got our first goal I thought we settled down and played some good football. We now face into a tough semi-final and we will be stepping up our work on the training ground," said Donegal manager Declan Bonner.

DONEGAL: D Rodgers; G McFadden, S McMenamin, P Doherty; B McCole, J McGee, E O'Donnell 0-4 (three frees); R Carr (0-2), M Carroll (0-1); C Doherty 0-7 (five frees), M Langan, D Ó Baoill (1-0); P McNern, N Ó Baoill (1-0), N O'Donnell. Subs: K Barrett for N O'Donnell (46 mins), S Ferry for P Doherty (50 mins), E McGettigan for N Ó Baoill (52 mins), N Gavigan for Carr, B Curran for E O'Donnell (both 57 mins), J R Molloy for D Ó Baoill (58 mins). Yellow cards: N O'Donnell (39 mins).
ARMAGH: C Donaghy; D KLoye, B McCambridge, R Owens; C Boylan, C Murphy, C O'Neill (0-1); P Quinn (0-1), J Óg Burns; R O'Neill, M McCabe, O O'Neill (0-4, one free); C Magill, T O'Hare, A Boyle (0-1). Subs: C Grimley for Magill (half-time), J Duffy for O'Kane (40 mins), S Conaty for Boyle (42 mins), R Gaskin for Owens (42 mins), S Morris for Quinn (45 mins), L Doyle for R O'Neill (56 mins). Yellow cards: Owens (25 mins), O'Hare (27 mins), R O'Neill (28 mins), Murphy (39 mins).