Election in Tipperary


TIPPERARY County Board GAA chairman, Sean Fogarty, will step down from his post at the county convention on January 26th, having served his three-year term. Nominations closed on Monday and it was confirmed that four candidates will contest the position.

They are former west board chairman, Paul O'Neill, from the Cappawhite club, former north board chairman, Billy Ryan, from Borrisoleigh, the present south board chairman, Sean Nugent, from Kilsheelan, whose term of office expires this month, and mid-Tipperary board chairman, Sean Mockler, of Loughmore/Castleiney, who is also chairman of the Tipperary Football Board.

If elected, Sean Nugent will be the first South Tipperary official to take the county chair in the 90-year history of the division.