Yeats Country congress this week


THE 34th Yeats Country bridge congress will take place in the Sligo Park Hotel from May 24th to 26th. The mixed pairs and gala open pairs will be played on Friday night the major and intermediate B pairs will be over two sessions on Saturday, followed, by a social and the two session teams will finish at 9.30 p.m. on Sunday.

Open pairs throughout. Entries Nan Hender (071 62536).

The Alcatel worldwide simultaneous pairs tournament may be played on June 7th or 8th. Clubs wishing to take part should contact, without delay, Paul Porteous at Central Office (01 269 7275). Among the prizes in each country, special awards will be made to the best women, and mixed and junior pairs.

A training workshop for potential bridge teachers, starting at 11.00 a.m., will be run in the Mullingar Centre on May 25th. For details contact Seamus Dowling (01-493 3390).

The senior pairs championship of the Northern Ireland Bridge Union's congress, held in Ballyreagh, Portrush, was won by Mr and Mrs G. Bobby. Runners up were R. Plunkett, and H. Kane. Third prize went to J. Carroll, and H. Dowling Long. Sessional winners M. O'Kane Dr S.G. McComb S.G. Irwin, R. Connell. Non expert prize: D. Leeman, R. Hanley. Swiss teams: 1, Dr H. Campbell, Dr S. Hall, R. Plunkett, P. Tranmer 2, C. Burns, D. Sloan, Carroll/Dowling Long 3, Mr and Mrs E.C. Andrew, R. Burns, D. Greenwood. Non expert: Mr and Mrs W. Kerr, Irwin Connell. Intermediate: Mrs E. Wilmsley, Mrs A. Shannon, Mr and Mrs A. Carroll. Junior: C. Jones, P. Rosenberg, R. Cowan, J. Cheung.

Ascendancy: J. Ferguson, S. Lowe, W. Dukelow, W. Mathews.

Mixed pairs: 1, M. Rosenberg, H. Dowling Long 2, C. Burns, J. Carroll 3, S. Siva, Mrs W. Wilkinson 4, G. Fitzgerald, Mrs I. Orr. Flitch: Mr and Mrs B. Mc Dowell. Non expert: C.

McFadden, Mrs M. Boomer. Intermediate: D. Hanna, Dr M.Bew. Junior: R. Cowan, Mrs M. Teggarty.

Intermediate pairs: 1, R. Blair, J. Nugent 2, J. Taylor, Mrs A. Timoney 3, Mrs A. Fitzpatrick, Mrs M. Madden. Sessionals: Mr and Mrs O'Shea A. Byers, Mrs B. Ward. Junior pairs: I, Mrs D. Friel, S. Sloan 2, J. Cheung, C. Jones 3 Mrs A. McKay, Mrs N. McGeehan. Sessionals: Mr and Mrs D. Ferguson Mr and Mrs P. Wilson.

A fund raising drive, beginning at 7.00 p.m., will be played in the cafeteria of the Loreto Convent, Foxrock, Co Dublin, on May 28th. Tickets at £10 each are available from Frances Daly (01 289 3712).