Wexford group wins top prize at drama finals


THE 44th All Ireland Amateur Drama Finals ended in Athlone on Saturday. In the afternoon, Blue Light Players presented Birdcage, by Paul Soye, the winning entry in the Esso New Playwright Competition. Later, in the main competition, Corn Mill Theatre, Carrigallen, presented another new play, Lovely Leitrim by John McDyer.

The results were Esso Trophy for Overall Winning Group Enniscorthy Theatre Group's Poor Beast in the Rain, by Billy Roche. Best Actor John McDyer, Carrick on Shannon. Best Actress Geraldine Cronnogue, Carrick on Shannon. Best Director other than Winning Group's Paddy Keohane, Kilmeen Drama Group. Best Supporting Actress Viv Cardin, Dalkey Players. Best Supporting Actor Sean McIntyre, Corn Mill Theatre, Carrigallen. Best Set Michael Dullca, Kilmeen Drama Group. Best Lighting Derry O'Shea, Sundrive Players, Dublin. Best Stage Manager Eileen Kingston, Kilmeen Drama Group. Summer School Scholarships Eimer Doyle, Boolavogue Drama Group Philip Gleeson, Club Players Sharon Downey, A View Fwrn the Bridge Adrian McKimney, Omagh Players.