Three new faces in Springboks team


Rugby:South Africa coach Peter de Villiers will hand Springbok debuts to centre Andries Strauss, outhalf Elton Jantjies and prop Coenie Oosthuizen when the world champions face the Barbarians at Twickenham on Saturday.

With the traditional finale to the autumn internationals not having Test status De Villiers had made 12 changes in total from the side that defeated England 21-11 last weekend.

Victor Matfield, Jean de Villiers, Jannie du Plessis, Bismarck du Plessis and Zane Kirchner have all been ruled out by injury while Ruan Pienaar and Frans Steyn have returned to their clubs as the match falls outside the designated International Rugby Board window.

In addition to Strauss, Jantjies and Oosthuizen there are also first starts on tour for Patrick Lambie at full-back, Odwa Ndungane, Adi Jacobs, Willem Alberts, Adriaan Strauss, Alistair Hargreaves and CJ van der Linde. Scrum-half Charl McLeod could make his debut from the bench while flanker Juan Smith will captain the side.

“The newcomers have been waiting for their chance and will bring energy and enthusiasm to the line-up at the end of a long season,” said De Villiers. “They have trained well and been patient throughout the tour and this is their chance to show what they can do.

“The Barbarians have brought together a very exciting team that is definitely made to play rugby in the traditional Barbarian style. Nick [Mallett, Barbarians coach] will have taken note of what is an untried backline combination and there’s no doubt he’ll be focusing his attention there.

“But Juan Smith and the players are determined to maintain the improvements of this tour and this game is set to be a fascinating contest.”

The Barbarians starting line-up includes six Australians and five All Blacks plus Italy’s Salvatore Perugini and Martyn Williams from Wales. Two uncapped players are also included, New Zealand number eight Colin Bourke from the Chiefs and Western Province captain and second row Anton van Zyl who will relish the chance of facing his fellow countrymen.

South Africa:P Lambie; O Ndungane, A Jacobs, A Strauss, L Mvovo; E Jantjies, F Hougaard; C Oosthuizen, A Strauss, CJ van der Linde, B Botha, A Hargreaves, W Alberts, J Smith (captain), R Kankowski. Replacements:B Maku, T Mtawarira, AN Other, F van der Merwe, K Daniel, C McLeod, G Aplon.

Barbarians:James O’Connor (Aus), Joe Rococoko (NZ), Drew Mitchell (Aus), Adam Ashley-Cooper (Aus), Ma’a Nonu (NZ), Matt Giteau (Aus, capt), Will Genia (Aus), Salvatore Perugini (It), Stephen Moore (Aus), Neemia Tialata (NZ), Anton van Zyl (Stormers), Chris Jack (NZ), Rodney So’oialo (NZ), Martyn Williams (Wales), Colin Bourke (Chiefs). Replacements:Keven Mealamu (NZ), John Yapp (Wales), Quintin Geldenhuys (It), Daniel Braid (NZ), Andy Ellis (NZ), Stephen Donald (NZ), Seru Rabini (Fij).