Government nominates two new judges

Judge Catherine A Murphy appointed to Circuit Court and solicitor Deirdre Gearty appointed to District Court

The Government has nominated two women for appointment to the Circuit and District Courts.

The cabinet decided yesterday to nominate Judge Catherine A Murphy, a former solicitor who is currently on the District Court bench, for a position on the Circuit Court and to name solicitor Deirdre Gearty as a judge of the District Court.

The vacancies arise from the retirement of judges Patrick Moran and Patrick McMahon from the Circuit and District Courts respectively.

Ms Gearty's appointment follows a call for applications through the Judicial Appointments Advisory Board, which sends Government a list of all candidates who meet the minimum requirements for the role. As a sitting member of the bench, Judge Murphy was not required to apply.


Judge Murphy, born in 1951, was educated at UCD and the Law Society and enrolled as a solicitor in 1973. She was a partner in the firm JG O'Connor and Co in Dublin from 1981 to 1994 and practiced mainly in property, commercial law, insolvency and employment. She was appointed to the District Court in 1996 and was a member of the project board for the construction of the Criminal Courts of Justice.

Ms Gearty was born in 1960 and also educated at UCD and the Law Society. She became a solicitor in 1983, and has practiced with FJ Gearty and Co in Longford ever since. She is an accredited mediator and has been a member of the Free Legal Aid Centre since 1995. Ms Gearty is also chair of the board of management of Scoil Mhuire national school in Newtownforbes, Co Longford.

The nominees will be appointed by President Michael D Higgins.

Ruadhán Mac Cormaic

Ruadhán Mac Cormaic

Ruadhán Mac Cormaic is the Editor of The Irish Times