Exeter vs Munster: O’Mahony and Carbery ruled out through injury

Ben Healy gets the nod at outhalf as Simon Zebo, Keith Earls and Mike Haley all return

Champions Cup: Exeter vs Munster, Saturday April 9th, Sandy Park (5.3opm kick-off, live on BT Sport).

Munster will be without captain Peter O'Mahony and outhalf Joey Carbery for their Heineken Champions Cup match against the Exeter Chiefs at Sandy Park on Saturday evening. They join Gavin Coombes, Dave Kilcoyne and Tadhg Beirne on the absentee list.

A medical update confirmed that O’Mahony suffered a hamstring injury the extent of which will be reassessed on Monday to see if he can be fit for the second leg while Carbery picked up a low-grade knee issue. He is expected to train fully from the start of next week. Gavin Coombes underwent surgery for the ankle injury that he sustained in the defeat to Leinster last weekend.

Jack O’Donoghue, who missed last weekend’s game, returns and will captain the side in a new backrow that includes John Hodnett and former Ireland Under-20 captain Alex Kendellen. Mike Haley has recovered from injury, Simon Zebo passed the return to play protocols following concussion while Keith Earls is promoted to the starting team.


Ben Healy, a catalyst for Munster’s try in the Leinster match, will wear the number 10 jersey. Jean Kleyn has also recovered from injury and partners Fineen Wycherley in the secondrow with Jason Jenkins dropping to the bench.

Thomas Ahern is in line to make his European debut having been included amongst the replacements. Rory Scannell is promoted to the matchday 23 as is Jack O’Sullivan, the latter’s presence means that head coach Johann van Graan has opted for a six/two split on the bench.

Exeter Chiefs: S Hogg; O Woodburn, H Slade, I Whitten, T O'Flaherty; J Simmonds, S Maunder; A Hepburn, J Yeandle (capt), H Williams; J Gray, S Skinner; D Ewers, J Vermeulen, S Simmonds.

Replacements: J Innard, B Moon, P Schickerling, J Kirsten, R Capstick, J Maunder, H Skinner, J Hodge.

Munster: M Haley; K Earls, C Farrell, D de Allende, S Zebo; B Healy, C Murray; J Loughman, N Scannell, S Archer; J Kleyn, F Wycherley; J O'Donoghue, J Hodnett, A Kendellen.

Replacements: D Barron, J Wycherley, J Ryan, J Jenkins, T Ahern, C Casey, R Scannell, J O'Sullivan.

Referee: Pierre Brousset (France)