Clongowes’ clinical edge cuts King’s Hospital down

Clongowes click into gear in second half to see off King’s Hospital

Clongowes Wood College 33 The King’s Hospital 8

The clinical edge of Clongowes to do more with less paved the way for their presence in the Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Senior Cup quarter-final at Donnybrook on Thursday.

KH owned the ball for a stretch and their many promising positions came to nothing as Clongowes wing Brian Maher closed in twice to defuse explosive attacks.

They had to settle for a Paul McCullagh penalty in the seventh minute.


The problem was Clongowes were more dangerous with less ball.

The influential prop Edward Carroll got behind for Patrick Nulty to send lock Florence McCarthy to the posts for Benjamin O’Shea to convert in the 24th minute.

Hos’ turned down a shot at the posts in favour of a lineout. It worked out well as the backs joined in the maul to add the weight they needed to make the line for prop Sean Goodburn to reclaim the lead.

From there, Clongowes found the answers they were looking for from the boot of centre O’Shea in the in the 27th ad 30th minutes for 13-8 at the half.

There was a distinct improvement from the Clane school on their return to action as they began to click into gear for O’Shea to kick a penalty.

The front five, led by Carroll and captain Jack Moore, took over in the close exchanges and the ruck ball got quicker for centre Miles O'Connor and Maher to benefit from a dominant platform.

Clongowes Wood: M Silvester; F Lynch, M O'Connor, B O'Shea, B Maher; T Monaghan, J Murphy; J Martin, D Sheehan, E Carroll, J Moore (capt), F McCarthy, P Nulty, S McMahon, S McCrohan. Replacements: R Lemess for Monaghan 42 mins; A Kelly for McCrohan 53 mins; D Jeffares for Moore 59 mins; T Dooley for Sheehan, C Daly for Murphy both 64 mins; A Odlum for Carroll, G Graham for Martin, J Gilmartin for O'Shea all 68 mins.

King's Hospital: P McCullagh; H Mahood, C Howley, D Corcoran, D Corr; D Courtney, S Le Roux; S Goodburn, C Murphy, C Mullen, S Wrafter, T Doyle (capt), S Charman, J White, D Boles. Replacements: F Shilling for Charman, D Eiffe for Howley both 44 mins; OJ Onolememen for Goodburn, C Wokocha for McCullagh, N Sibanda for Mullen all 62 mins; J Courtney for Le Roux, F Campbell for Murphy, L Morgan for Mahood all 65 mins.

Referee: S Owens, Leinster Branch.