Greg Broderick named in Ireland team for Aga Khan

Cian O’Connor set to make 100th Nation’s Cup appearance

Tipperary rider Greg Broderick will make his debut in the Aga Khan on Friday, while Cian O'Connor is set to make his 100th Nation's Cup appearance.

Robert Splaine confirmed Ireland's Aga Khan team on Thursday evening, with Co Down's Conor Swail dropped to fifth man. The line out will be Bertram Allen with Romanov; Broderick on Mhs Going Global, O'Connor on Good Luck; and Darragh Kenny with Sans Soucis Z.

As Ireland was drawn in the difficult position of first to jump of the eight teams competing, 20-year-old Bertram Allen will be the first rider into the main arena when the Aga Khan starts at 3pm on Friday.

The pressure on Ireland is doubled by the hopes to qualify for the Barcelona Nation’s Cup final. Ireland is currently eighth in Europe Division 1 league, but only seven will qualify for the final. Dublin is the last of the series for 2015.


Splaine has also to select his European team for the Aachen championships this month, and hope Ireland will qualify for the 2016 Rio Olympics at the German venue.

Thursday's second international saw Italian Emanuele Guadiano on the bay mare Cocoshynsky have the fastest clear round to win the Cityjet Serpentine Speed Stakes in 64.82. Sired by the Ukrainian-based stallion Cornet Obolensky – a much used sire this year by Irish breeders – Cocshynsky earned more than €8,085 in the €24,500 class with 39 starters. Ireland's Bertram Allen, who had a lean start to the show, gave chase for second place in 69.31, with Quainton Stud's Oldenberg gelding by Quidam's Rubin, clear in 69.31.

Old favourite of the RDS main arena, O'Connor, and his grey gelding Coco II, slotted into third place in 72.24, while Belgian-based Irish dealer and rider Enda Carroll saw his stable jockey Marlon Zanotelli finish fourth with Rock N Roll Semilly, ahead of Swail and Ian Ferder's Viva Columbia.

Bennettsbridge producer Gerard O’Neill partnered Castlefield Cass for Jim O’Neill and Paul O’Byrne to win the Horsesport Ireland five year old qualifier at the Simmonscourt.

Twenty horses went into the second round but O'Neill stopped the clock in 31.83 to qualify for the final as did Gemma Phelan with Noel Ryan's RVS Lui Fortunus, clear in 32.59.

The Cityjet Serpentine Stakes
1 Emanuele Gaudiano ITA Cocoshynsky 0-64.82
2 Bertram Allen IRE Quiet Easy 4 0- 69.31
3 Cian O'Connor IRE Coco II 0- 72.24
4 Marlon Modolo Zanotelli BRA Rock and Roll Semilly 0-72.99
5 Conor Swail, IRE Viva Columbia 0-73.05
6 Shane Breen IRE Golden Hawk 0-73.18

The Talbot Collection Speed Derby
1 Dermott Lennon IRE Vampire 0-84.91
2 Billy Twomey IRE Ardcolum Duke 0-86.84
3 Steve Guerdat Sui Albfuehren's Memphis 0-90.91
4 Shane Breen IRE Acoustik Solo du Baloubet 4 91.20

TRI Equestrian 128cm Ponies
1 Rhys Williams, Parc Lolita 0-0 31.67
2 Max Wachman, Little Jack Spratt 0-0 35.6
3 Max Foley, Sparkel 0-4 28.92
4 Amy Reape, Heartbreaker 0-4 33.93

TRI Equestrian 138cms ponies
1 Patrick Hickey, WIshin Chin M 0-0 30.26
2 Hannah O'Shea, More Clover 0-0 30.44
3 Hannah O'Shea, Cinderella Girl  0-4 26.48
4 Grace O'Donnell, Orchid's Vienna 0-4 28.15

TRI Equestrian 138cm
1 Jason Foley, Kiltormer Hero 0-0 30.49
2 Kate Derwin, Small Titan 0-0 31.19
3 Jason Foley, Bear Me in Mind  0-0 31.25
4 Charlotte Houston, Woodfield Superstar 0-0 35.81

Connolly's Red Mills International Seven and Eight Year Olds
1 Liam O'Meara IRE Curraghgraigue Jack 0-63.43
2 Bertram Allen IRE Cheese WZ 0-64.53
3 Thomas O'Brien IRE Hector Van D'Abdijoeve 0-64.69
4 Nicholas Butler IRE Rincoola Rua  0-66.30
5 Marion Hughes IRE Laith 0-66.38

Horsesport Ireland Five year old qualifier
1 Gerard O'Neill, Castlefield Cass 0-0 31.83
2 Gemma Phelan, RVS Lui Fortunus 0-0 32.59
3 Ethen Ahearne, Sportsfield Fleurie 0-0 33.11
4 Jordan Coyle, Essenar Crixus  0-0 33.18