Michael Carey among three changes in Kilkenny line-up for Cork clash

Alan Murphy and Conor Fogarty also in for the Cats with Shane Barrett in for Cork

Kilkenny have made three changes to the team that won the Leinster Championship final against Dublin for Sunday’s All-Ireland semi-final with Cork (3.30pm).

Into the side come two of the replacements who featured strongly in the provincial win. Michael Carey, son of DJ, replaces Conor Browne, who had to go off injured the last day but Carey's impressive pace will be an asset against a fast Cork attack, He also scored a point.

Alan Murphy scored two points and was brought down for a penalty scored by TJ Reid, which put the contest to bed. He replaces Martin Keoghan.

Veteran Conor Fogarty is also named at centrefield in place of Richie Leahy.


Opponents Cork make just one change. Shane Kingston is replaced by Shane Barrett, who has done well off the bench this championship, scoring 1-2 in his last two matches. Defenders Eoin Cadogan and Damien Cahalane, who were recently indisposed, with injury and appendicitis respectively, are both included among the replacements.

Waterford are unchanged for Saturday evening's All-Ireland semi-final against champions Limerick (5pm). Although Iarlaith Daly is fit again, he is expected on the bench with Shane Bennett continuing at centre back.

Conor Gleeson’s return from suspension sees him also kept in reserve.

Limerick had already named their team, bringing back All Stars Dan Morrissey and Aaron Gillane, whose introduction off the bench had been central to the team's recovery of a 10-point deficit against Tipperary. Richie English and Graeme Mulcahy revert to the substitutes.

WATERFORD: S O'Brien; I Kenny, C Prunty (capt), S McNulty; C Lyons, Shane Bennett, K Bennett; J Barron, P Hogan; J Fagan, J Prendergast, Stephen Bennett; D Hutchinson, A Gleeson, P Curran.

LIMERICK: N Quaid; S Finn, D Morrissey, B Nash; D Byrnes, D Hannon (capt), K Hayes; W O'Donoghue, D O'Donovan; G Hegarty, C Lynch, T Morrissey; P Casey, S Flanagan, A Gillane.

CORK: P Collins; N O'Leary, R Downey, S O'Donoghue; T O'Mahony, M Coleman, G Millerick; D Fitzgibbon, L Meade; C Cahalane, S Harnedy, R O'Flynn; S Barrett, P Horgan, J O'Connor.

Subs: G Collins, S O'Leary Hayes, C Spillane, E Cadogan, N Cashman, D Cahalane, B Hennessy, S Kingston, A Cadogan, A Connolly, D Dalton.

KILKENNY: E Murphy; T Walsh, H Lawlor, P Deegan; J Maher, P Walsh, M Carey; C Fogarty, R Reid; A Mullen, J Donnelly, B Ryan; E Cody. TJ Reid, A Murphy.

Subs: D Brennan, J Holden, C Wallace, C Delaney, D Corcoran, C Buckley, M Keoghan, W Walsh, J Bergin, R Hogan, L Blanchfield.