Third in a row for Chorca Dhuibhne



Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne of Dingle clinched a third successive Corn Uí Mhuirí (Munster Colleges SAFC) title as they withstood a stirring second half fight back from Macroom’s De La Salle at Dr Crokes’ pitch on Lewis Road in Killarney.

Midway through the second half, Chorca Dhuibhne, managed by Kerry boss Eamonn Fitzmaurice, looked in control, as they possessed a five-point lead 2-11 to 2-6, but Macroom refused to throw in the towel, and they added three unanswered points, two from Cian Healy and one by Barry O’Leary, to close the gap to just two with eight minutes left.

Third goal
A free from Séamus Ó Muircheartaigh ended Corca Dhuibhne’s barren spell and then when the brilliant Maitiú Ó Flatharta set up Cathal Ó Bambaire for his third goal, it secured victory, despite John Murphy’s late goal for Macroom.

Corca Dhuibhne dominated the opening half against an ultra defensive Macroom side who had 11 players in their own half, with Barra O Suilleabháin a towering figure at midfield and both Maitiu Ó Flatharta and Tom Ó Suilleabháin troubling the Macroom defence, with constant attacks.
POBALSCOIL CHORCA DHUIBHNE : D Ó Conchúir; C Ó Suilleabháin, B Ó Beaglaíoch (0-1), T Ó Súilleabáin (0-2); M Ó Flatharta (0-1), C Ó Beaghlaíoch, S Ó Gairbhia; B Ó Súilleabháin, M Ó Conchúir; R Ó Sé, B Ó Raoil, T Ó Sé (0-1); C Ó Géibheannaigh (0-2), C Ó Bambaire (3-2), S Ó Muircheartaigh (0-4, frees). Subs: S Ó Bambaire (0-1) for Ó Géibheannaigh (43), C Ó Gairbhia for R Ó Sé (55), C Ó Muirthile for T Ó Sé, C Ó Murchú for S Ó Gairbhia (both 60)
DE LA SALLE : A Duggan; K Dwyer, D O’Callaghan, B McMahon; M Healy, S Kelleher, D Cahalane; P Kelleher (0-1), B O’Leary (0-1, free); J Murphy (1-0), J Moynihan (1-2), W Coakley; C Healy (0-3), J Ryan (1-2, 0-2 frees), F McSweeney. Subs: D Creedon for Healy (52)
Referee : R Moloney (Limerick)