St Patrick’s take control to bridge MacRory Cup 40-year gap

Cavan side take control through goal by Thomas Edward Donohue

St Patrick's, Cavan 1-12 Omagh CBS 2-4

St Patrick's, Cavan are through to their first MacRory Cup final in 40 years after overcoming a fancied Omagh CBS side at Castleblayney yesterday.

The Tyrone side had the boost of an early Cathal Donaghy goal but then Cavan assumed control. Conor Smith and Thomas Edward Donohue had points with the latter also grabbing a goal to leave the score at 1-7 to 1-3 at the break.

Increased lead

Aiden McSorley reduced the gap on the restart but by the end of the third quarter the winners were six points to the good thanks to efforts from Matthew McKenna and Donohoe.

With eight minutes to go in the contest Omagh were thrown a lifeline when Gavin Slane scored a goal and all of a sudden just three points divided the two sides.


They failed to score again though as two Pierce Smith frees sent Cavan through to their first MacRory final in 40 years. Omagh finished with 14 men after Eoghain Murray was dismissed late on.

ST PATRICK'S, CAVAN: F O'Rourke, D Lunney, D Monaghan, L Fortune, D Kennedy, C McManus, JJ McGovern, T Galligan, B Argue, P Smith (0-3, two frees), P Leddy, M McKenna (0-2), C Smith (0-2), B Conaty (0-1), T E Donohoe (1-4, three frees). Subs: R O'Neill for Leddy, B McKiernan for Argue, D Wilson for Galligan.
OMAGH CBS: P O'Neill, P Keyes, E Murray, C Moss, O McGinn, C Donaghy (1-0), J Harkin (0-1,free), P McGirr, J Darcy (0-1, free), N Donnelly (0-1), A McSorley (0-1), M Coreless, A McGrath, A Fullerton, G Slane (1-0). Subs: R McKenna for Keyes, T Clarke for Donnelly, T McNamee for Fullerton, C Loughran for McSorley.
Referee: C Branagan, Down