Shamrocks, De La Salle land club titles


Leinster final - Ballyhale Shamrocks 2-13 Birr 1-11:  Experienced campaigners Ballyhale Shamrocks overturned defending champions Birr 2-13 to 1-11 at Nowlan Park to secure the Leinster Club SHC for a sixth time this afternoon.

The Kilkenny champions were quick out of the blocks and had built up an early lead courtesy of goals from TJ Reid and Eoin Reid within the first 20 minutes.

From a solid foundation Shamrocks added further points through Michael Fennelly and Henry Shefflin (0-05) to hold a 2-08 to 0-06 at the break. Simon Whelahan (0-05) made the biggest impact for Birr in the first period.

The margin was reduced in the second half by a Brian Whelahan goal and point from Paul O'Meara but Shamrocks wouldn't be denied.

Munster final

De La Salle 1-09 Adare 0-10:De La Salle were quick learners as they secured their first Munster Club SHC title with a hard-fought 1-09 to 0-10 win over Adare at Semple Stadium.

With the match closely poised, John Mullane and Thomas Kearney ensured the Waterford win and the O'Neill Cup with late scores.

Adare went into the break 0-05 to 0-00 ahead with Conor Fitzgerald scoring two frees without reply from the Waterford side.
Adare look set for victory when Liam Costello put the Limerick champions seven points clear but Mullane inspired De La Salle's memorable comeback.

Ulster final

Ballinderry 1-10 Crossmaglen 1-10:It was honours even in Ulster as Crossmaglen Rangers and Ballinderry couldn't be separated at 1-10 to 1-10 in today's Club SFC final in Enniskillen.

Defeninding champions Crossmaglen, who haven't lost a final since 1982, looked assured of the win before Niall McCusker's goal forced the replay.

All-Ireland winner Oisin McConville scored a goal eight minutes from time but two Colin Devlin points and McCusker's strike ensured a draw.

Crossmaglen led 0-06 to 0-04 at half-time. Ballinderry's Conor Wilkinson was also sent-off.

In a highly competitive game the Armagh side also had Michael McNamee and John McEntee sent-off in the second half.