President and Taoiseach led mourners at State funeral of Albert Reynolds

Four former taoisigh were present, along with fromer British prime minister John Major

  Former taoiseach Liam Cosgrave arriving at the funeral of  Albert Reynolds, at the Church of the Sacred Heart, Donnybrook, Dublin, yesterday. Photograph: Eric Luke

Former taoiseach Liam Cosgrave arriving at the funeral of Albert Reynolds, at the Church of the Sacred Heart, Donnybrook, Dublin, yesterday. Photograph: Eric Luke


President Michael D Higgins and Taoiseach Enda Kenny led the very large congregation of mourners at the State funeral of Albert Reynolds yesterday.

Four former taoisigh – Liam Cosgrave, John Bruton, Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen – were present, along with former British prime minister John Major.

Tánaiste Joan Burton attended, along with several members of the Government, including: Minister for Finance Michael Noonan; Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform Brendan Howlin; Minister for Justice Frances Fitzgerald; Minister for Foreign Affairs Charlie Flanagan; Minister for Transport Paschal Donohoe; and Attorney General Máire Whelan.

The Lord Mayor of Dublin Christy Burke was present.

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin led his party’s representation. Former Fianna Fáil ministers included Pádraig Flynn, Charlie McCreevy, Mary O’Rourke, Mary Hanafin, David Andrews, Michael Woods, Dermot Ahern, Noel Dempsey, Mary Coughlan, Pat Carey, Seán Haughey, Michael Smith, Martin Mansergh, Conor Lenihan and Noel Ahern.

Former president Mary McAleese and her husband Martin attended, as did EU commissioner Máire Geoghegan Quinn, a former Fianna Fáil minister; former tánaiste and Labour Party leader Dick Spring; and another former Labour leader and Government minister Pat Rabbitte.

Mourners with Northern Ireland connections included Northern Ireland Secretary of State Theresa Villiers; Northern Ireland Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness; former SDLP leader John Hume and his wife Pat; and SDLP leader Alistair McDonnell.

Martin Fraser, the Department of the Taoiseach secretary general, and Dermot McCarthy, former Department of the Taoiseach secretary general, both attended, as did Áras an Uachtaráin secretary general Art O’Leary.

Current Ministers of State attending included Seán Sherlock (official development assistance, trade promotion and North/South co-operation); Dara Murphy (European affairs and data protection); Damien English (skills, research and innovation); and Jimmy Deenihan ( diaspora).


Fianna Fáil members

Fianna Fáil TDs who were present included Michael McGrath; Dara Calleary; Billy Kelleher; Timmy Dooley; Niall Collins; Seán Fleming; Robert Troy; John Browne; Michael Moynihan; Brendan Smith; and Charlie McConalogue.


Fianna Fáil Senators included: Darragh O’Brien; Thomas Byrne; Averil Power; Ned O’Sullivan; Jim Walsh; Terry Leyden; Diarmuid Wilson; and Labhrás Ó Murchú.

Others from Fianna Fáil who were present included Beverley Flynn; Pat “the Cope” Gallagher; Noel Treacy; Mark Killilea; Louis Belton; Michael Ahern; Brendan Daly; Johnny Brady; Michael Ahern; John Moloney; Michael Finneran; Donie Cassidy; Geraldine Feeney; Eddie Bohan; Pat Moylan; Brian Hillery; and Ned O’Keeffe.

Fine Gael TDs included Gabrielle McFadden, James Bannon, Joe O’Reilly, Bernard Durkan and John Perry, along with party Senators Maurice Cummins and Paul Coghlan. MEP Seán Kelly was also present.

Sinn Féin representatives included party leader Gerry Adams, Pat Doherty and the party’s US representative, Rita O’Hare.

Independent TDs Shane Ross, Finian McGrath, Denis Naughten and Peter Mathews were present, along with Independent Senator Feargal Quinn.


PD representation

The former PD leader Des O’Malley was present along with former PD chief whip Liz O’Donnell and Tom Parlon, Construction Industry Federation director general.


Former Fine Gael TD Tom Enright was present, as was Dick Burke, former Fine Gael minister and European commissioner.

The former Green Party leader John Gormley attended.

From the Council of State came Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Mrs Justice Susan Denham; Ms Justice Catherine McGuinness, former Supreme Court judge; Mr Justice Thomas Finlay; Michael Farrell; and Sally Mulready.

The acting Garda Commissioner, Noírín O’Sullivan, attended.

Church figures included Fr Aidan Troy; Msgr Lorcan O’Brien; Church of Ireland Archbishop of Dublin Most Rev Dr Michael Jackson; Moderator of the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church in Ireland Rev Michael Barry; and president of the Methodist Church in Ireland Dr Heather Morris.

Media representatives included Noel Curran, RTÉ director general; Kevin Bakhurst, deputy director general of RTÉ and managing director of RTÉ news and current affairs; Stephen Collins, Political Editor of The Irish Times representing Editor Kevin O’Sullivan; Sam Smyth; Seán O’Rourke; and Anne Doyle. Noel Whelan, barrister and Irish Times columnist, was also present.

Seán Duignan and Mandy Johnson, former government press secretaries, attended.

Others present included Larry Goodman; designer Louise Kennedy and her sister Caroline Kennedy, managing director of Kennedy PR; jockey Charlie Swan; and JP McManus.