Fianna Fail add Sean Haughey to Dublin Bay North ticket

Former minister of state narrowly lost selection convention to Deirdre Heaney

Fianna Fáil is to add Cllr Seán Haughey to the ticket in Dublin Bay North. Mr Haughey was informed of the decision on Tuesday afternoon.

The former minister of state lost the selection convention to his colleague Deirdre Heaney in a tight contest believed to have been decided by two votes.

Fianna Fáil has now decided to add the councillor to the ticket in the tough constituency.

Mr Haughey said: “I am very honoured to be nominated as FF candidate. I am deeply committed to the ideal of public service and hope I can gain the trust of the electorate to represent them once again in Dáil Éireann.”


Independent Senator Averil Power, who left Fianna Fáil, will contest alongside Labour's Aodhán Ó Riordáin, Fine Gael's Richard Bruton, Stephanie Regan and Naoise Ó Muirí.

Independent TD Finian McGrath, Independent TD Tommy Broughan and Sinn Féin's Denise Mitchell and Micheál Mac Donncha will also contest in the five-seater.