Cats dominate All-Star nominations


GAA:All-Ireland hurling champions Kilkenny account for almost one third of the GAA GPA All-Star Hurling Awards nominees after they reclaimed their crown at the expense of Tipperary earlier this month.

Brian Cody’s side have 14 players in the running for the final 15-man selection which will be presented at a banquet event at Convention Centre Dublin on Friday, October 21st.

There are 10 nominees from beaten finalists Tipp, while Dublin have the same in a sign of the huge progress they have made under Anthony Daly.

Waterford have six names in the hat, Limerick have three and Galway two.

“Today marks an important milestone in relations between the GAA and our players,” said GAA president Christy Cooney today, “and I wholeheartedly congratulate the 45 hurlers whose performances have been recognised by their inclusion on the short list and also the five Player of the Month winners who helped light up the summer not only in their own counties, but for hurling in general.

“I would like to thank the GPA and our sponsors Opel for helping us to reach this point and I look forward to their ongoing support and co-operation in the run up to the eagerly awaited announcements of the actual All-Star teams next month.”

Nominees 2011 GAA GPA Hurling All-Stars sponsored by Opel

Goalkeepers: Gary Maguire (Dublin), David Herity (Kilkenny), Brendan Cummins (Tipperary).

Full Backs: Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Niall Corcoran (Dublin), Paul Curran (Tipperary), Peter Kelly (Dublin), Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny), Michael Cahill (Tipperary), Tom Condon (Limerick), David Collins (Galway), Noel Hickey (Kilkenny).

Half backs: Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny), JJ Delaney (Kilkenny), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary), Brian Hogan (Kilkenny), Joey Boland (Dublin), Michael Walsh (Waterford), Conor O’Mahony (Tipperary), Shane Durkan (Dublin), Tony Browne (Waterford).

Midfielders: Donal O’Grady (Limerick), Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny), Kevin Moran (Waterford), Liam Rushe (Dublin), Gearóid Ryan (Tipperary), Johnny McCaffrey (Dublin).

Half Forwards: Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny), Richie Power (Kilkenny), Patrick Maher (Tipperary), Conal Keaney (Dublin), Ryan O’Dwyer (Dublin), Declan Hannon (Limerick), Michael Rice (Kilkenny), Noel McGrath (Tipperary), Pauric Mahony (Waterford).

Full forwards: Lar Corbett (Tipperary), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny), Paul Ryan (Dublin), Shane Walsh (Waterford), John Mullane (Waterford), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny), Eoin Kelly (Tipperary), Joe Canning (Galway).

Player of the Month winners

May: Conal Keaney; June: Pádraic Maher; July: Lar Corbett; August: Michael Fennelly; September: Tommy Walsh.