Severs the star


Paul Severs took centre stage as Tubbercurry strolled to an easy seven-point win - 1-13 to 2-3 - over a lacklustre Craobh Rua in yesterday's Sligo hurling final at Markievicz Park. The former Connacht Railway Cup player produced an electrifying performance at midfield, bagging nine of the south Sligo side's points.

A goal by Carnew full forward Fintan Redmond nine minutes into the second half effectively scuttled Glenealy's brave challenge while at the same time giving his side their first Wicklow hurling title in nine years at Aughrim yesterday. Carnew ran out as 2-9 to 0-9 victors.

Tubbercurry: R McNulty; R Kilcoyne, J Burke, M Gallagher; K McDonagh, D Severs, R Haughey; R Brennan (0- 1), P Severs (0-9); B Brett, M Gorman (1-2), M Burke; R McNulty, B Walsh, D Killoran (0-1). Subs: G Perry for R McNulty, K Killeen for M Burke.

Craobh Rua: H Cox; T Gallagher, G Reilly, F Filan; P Lunn, M Galvin, F Coyne; L Filan, D Collery; T Brennan (1-0), S Boyd, B Gleeson; A Ryan (0-3), T Sweeney, P Scanlon. Subs: C Behan (1-0) for Brennan, D Cox for Scanlon, R Smith for Sweeney.

Referee: T McBrearty (Donegal).

Carnew: A Doyle; G Keogh, D Doran, E O'Sullivan; L Kennedy, G Doran, W Collins; E Brennan 0-2, T Kennedy; T Collins, D Hyland, 0-1, R Doyle 0-1; JJ Myers 0-1, F Redmond 1-1, J Murphy 1-3. Sub: M Collins for W Collins.

Glenealy: K Snell; T Byrne, MA O'Neill, David Doyle; Declan Doyle, K Manning, G Devlin; M McDonald 0-1, C Byrne; MJ O'Neill 0-2, W O'Gorman, M Byrne; L Glynn 0-2, J Phelan, J O'Neill 0-4. Subs: S Coady for J Phelan, I O'Neill for M Byrne Referee: D Peppard (Hollywood).