Henshaw to start for Under-20s


Rugby:Connacht’s Robbie Henshaw will make his first start for Ireland’s Under-20s against England tomorrow night after being released from Rabo duty by Connacht. The dynamic fullback, who has been training with the Irish senior panel, had been held back from Ireland’s defeat by Wales last weekend by Connacth after featuring for the Wolfhounds the previous week.

However, Henshaw was excused Rabo duty by Connacht coach Eric Elwood and will feature in an Irish side alongside David Panter and Rory Scholes in a new look back three.

Mark Roche, also making his first appearance of the tournament, will partner Tom Daly in the centre while coach Mike Ruddock has named Peter Dooley in the front row alongside George McGuigan and Chris Taylor.

England named their side yesterday, making four changes to the side that beat Scotland 15-6 in their opening game, with Mark Jennings, Henry Purdy, Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi and Scott Wilson coming in to the starting line-up.

Ireland Under-20:R Henshaw (Buccaneers/ Connacht); D Panter (Corinthians/Connacht), T Daly (Lansdowne/Leinster), M Roche (Lansdowne/ Connacht), R Scholes (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster); R Scannell (Dolphin/Munster), L McGrath (UCD/Leinster); P Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster), G McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons/Exile), C Taylor (Malone/Ulster); G Thornbury (UCD/Leinster), J Donnan (Ballynahinch/Ulster); P Timmins (UCD/Leinster), R Murphy (Dolphin/Munster), C Joyce (Malone/Ulster). Replacements:J Andrew (Ballymena/Ulster), R Furness (Worcester Warriors/Exile), A Boland (Lansdowne/ Connacht), S McCarthy (Shannon/Munster), J Van Der Flier (UCD/Leinster), J Creighton (Malone /Ulster), E Quinn (Lansdowne/ Leinster), D Sweetnam (UCC/Munster).

England Under-20:B Howard (Worcester); J Arnott (Exeter), M Jennings (Sale), S Hill (Exter), H Purdy (Leicester); H Slade (Exeter), A Day (Northampton); D Hobbs-Awoyemi (Northampto), L Cowan-Dickie (Exeter), S Wilson (Newcastle), E Stooke (Gloucester), D Barrow (Leeds), R Moriarty (Gloucester), J Conlon (Exeter), J Clifford (Harlequins). Replacements:M Crumpton (Saracens), N Morris (Wasps), D Herriott (Northampton), T Jubb (Saracens), H Wells (Leicester), N Fowles (Sale), W Hooley (Northampton), T Collins (Northampton) .

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.