Squad for European show jumping championships announced

Bertram Allen, Greg Broderick, Darragh Kenny and Cian O’Connor all nominated

Four of the riders and three of the horses on the team which won the Aga Khan trophy at the Dublin Horse Show last Friday have been named to represent Ireland at the European show jumping championships in Aachen, Germany.

The squad, announced by the Irish show jumping team manager Robert Splaine late on Monday night, sees world number five Bertram Allen nominated with his family's grey mare Molly Malone on which he won the €268,000 Grand Prix in Dinard earlier this month, a day after celebrating his 20 birthday.

Greg Broderick, Darragh Kenny and Cian O'Connor have been listed with their respective Dublin mounts, MHS Going Global, Sans Soucis Z and Good Luck, while Denis Lynch joins the squad with All Star 5. The championships, which run from August 19th to 23rd, provide Ireland with the last chance to qualify for next year's Olympic Games.