Irish riders hold position after fourth stage in Tour de Suisse

Dan Martin and Nicolas Roche both finish on same time as stage winner

Irish duo Dan Martin and Nicolas Roche maintained their high overall placings on yesterday's 161km fourth stage of the Tour de Suisse to Buochs, with both riders finishing in the main bunch in a big sprint to the line.

Each were classified as finishing in the same time as stage winner Arnaud Demare (FDJ), who triumphed after a three-man break containing Jens Voigt (RadioShack Leopard), Olivier Kaisen (Lotto Belisol) and Robert Vrecer (Euskaltel-Euskadi) were reeled in.

Mathias Frank (BMC Racing Team) continues to lead the general classification, holding a 23-second advantage over Roche's Saxo Tinkoff team-mate Roman Kreuziger (Team Saxo-Tinkoff).

Martin is one minute 12 seconds back in seventh overall, while Roche is two minutes 44 seconds down in 20th. Both will hope to move up before the race ends on Sunday.


The WorldTour event is the duo’s final preparation event before the 2013 Tour de France. The race continues today with a lumpy 176.4km race from Buochs to Leuggern and is certain to be marked by more attacks.

Tour de Suisse (WorldTour)
Stage 4, Innertkirchen to Buochs: 1, Arnaud Demare (FDJ) 161 kilometres in 4 hours 8 mins 23 secs; 2, M. Harley Goss (Orica-GreenEdge); 3, T. Farrar (Garmin-Sharp); 4, J. Degenkolb (Team Argos-Shimano); 5, A. Kristoff (Katusha); 6, H. Haussler (IAM Cycling); 7, P. Sagan (Cannondale Pro Cycling); 8, J. Debusschere (Lotto Belisol) Irish: 62, N. Roche (Team Saxo-Tinkoff); 82, D. Martin (Garmin-Sharp) each same time
Teams: 1, Vacansoleil - DCM Procycling Team, 12 hours 25 mins 9 secs; 2, Garmin-Sharp; 3, Sojasun Other: 12, Team Saxo -Tinkoff

General classification after stage 5: 1, Mathias Frank (BMC Racing Team 1) at 1 hours 48 mins 1 secs; 2, R. Kreuziger (Team Saxo-Tinkoff) at 23 secs; 3, R. Alberto Faria da Costa (Movistar Team) at 35 secs; 4, G. Visconti (Movistar Team) at 53 secs; 5, T. Pinot (FDJ) at 57 secs; 6, B. Mollema (Blanco Pro Cycling Team) at 1 min 8 secs; Irish: 7, D. Martin (Garmin-Sharp) at 1 min 23 secs; 20, N. Roche (Team Saxo-Tinkoff) at 2 mins 44 secs
Points classification: 1, Arnaud Demare (FDJ) 25 pts; 2, P. Sagan (Cannondale Pro Cycling) 24; 3, B. Mollema (Blanco Pro Cycling Team) 23 Other: 12, D. Martin (Garmin-Sharp) 13;
Mountains classification: 1, Robert Vrecer (Euskaltel-Euskadi) 19 pts; 2, R. Kreuziger (Team Saxo-Tinkoff) 12; 3, J. Voigt (RadioShack Leopard) 12 Other: 16, D. Martin (Garmin-Sharp) 2; Sprint classification: 1, Enrique Sanz (Movistar Team) 13 pts; 2, R. Vrecer (Euskaltel-Euskadi) 9; 3, J. Voigt (RadioShack Leopard) 7; Teams classification: 1, Astana Pro Team, 35 hours 29 mins 43 secs; 2, Movistar Team, at 30 secs; 3, AG2R La Mondiale, at 32 secs; Other: 7, Team Saxo -Tinkoff, at 6 mins 18 secs; 18, Garmin-Sharp, at 29 mins 1 secs

Shane Stokes

Shane Stokes

Shane Stokes is a contributor to The Irish Times writing about cycling