Kilkenny top champions Galway 10-9 in camogie All Star nominations

All-Ireland champions Galway and finalists Kilkenny dominate the All Stars shortlist released this morning by the Camogie Association. This year's team will be announced at the 10th annual All Stars banquet in Citywest on November 2nd.

Galway, who won their second All-Ireland last month, have received nine nominations. Goalkeeper Susan Earner, Therese Maher, Heather Cooney, Sarah Dervan and Lorraine Ryan are named in defence. Ailish O’Reilly, Niamh McGrath and Emma Kilkelly are listed in the forward line and Niamh Kilkenny is amongst the midfield nominees.

Kilkenny have received 10 nominations. Jacqui Frisby, Mairéad Power, Elaine Aylward, Edwina Keane are nominated in defence. Aoife Neary, Katie Power, Aishling Dunphy, Shelly Farrell receive nominations in the forward line, with Claire Phelan and Ann Dalton both named in midfield.

League champions Cork also received 10 nominations. Goalkeeper Aoife Murray, captain Anna Geary, Denise Cronin, Pamela Mackey and Maria Walsh make up the defence. Dual stars Briege Corkery and Angela Walsh are nominated in the forward line.