Dunne off as Toomevara strike again


Two quality goals by John O'Brien sent defending champions Toomevara on their way to a third successive Tipperary hurling title at Thurles yesterday where they proved too strong for Thurles Sarsfields.

Toomevara controlled the game all the way. John O'Brien's first goal in the 11th minute, created by the combined efforts of Tommy Dunne and Michael Bevans, set them on their way. A struggling Sarsfields took a long time to settle, but three points approaching the break gave them heart.

Leading 1-7 to 0-5 at the interval, Toomevara's title was secured six minutes into the second half when John O'Brien scored their second goal.

In a niggly period, Toomevara's Tommy Dunne and Rory Brislane and Tom Ryan of Sarsfields were sent to the line in three separate incidents. Tipperary captain Dunne received a straight red card for his offence. He now faces a month's suspension and will miss the opening rounds of his club's Munster campaign.

Sarsfields put in a good finish without seriously threatening to overtake their rivals. John O'Brien was the star of Toomevara's win with George Frend, Brian Duff, Paddy O'Brien and Tommy Delaney also to the fore. For Sarsfields, Brendan Cummins, Eddie Enright, John Enright, Larry Corbett and Gary Mernagh were best.

Toomevara: J Cottrell; G Frend, R Brislane, B Dunne; P Shanahan, T Delaney, B Duff; Terry Dunne, P Hackett; K Dunne (0-1), K Cummins, P O'Brien (0-6); Tommy Dunne (0- 1), J O'Brien (2-2), M Bevans. Sub: M O'Meara for Cummins.

Sarsfields: C Carroll; B O'Grady, T Maher, G Mernagh; P Treacy, S O'Shea, C McIntyre; B Carroll (0-1), T Ryan; L Corbett (0-1), E Enright (0-2), M O'Dowd; J Enright (0-4), C Maher (0-1), G O'Grady (0-1). Subs: S Nathan (0-1) for C Maher, T Ruth for O'Dowd.

Referee: W Barrett (Ardfinnan).