Doonbeg dethroned


The Clare championship was captured by Ennis side Eire Og when they had a goal to spare over reigning champions Doonbeg in the final played at Cusack Park, Ennis yesterday.

Doonbeg were seeking their third title in a row, and Eire Og are now on the brink of a first senior double since 1929, as their hurlers face Sixmilebridge in next Sunday's decider.

The men from Clare's capital town trailed by two points 0-7 to 0-5 at the interval, despite having the better of the initial opening exchanges.

Following the resumption, Doonbeg looked to have control, but Eire Og's never-say-die attitude was rewarded 10 minutes into the half when Brian FitzPatrick equalised with a goal from a Brian McMahon cross.

Immediately, Doonbeg were reduced to 14 men as Declan Griffin was red-carded for an off-the-ball strike on Aidan Keane. They made full use of their numerical advantage and added further points from McMahon, Fitzpatrick. centre back Barry Keating.