Shortlist for the Pharma Industry Awards has been announced

The Pharma Industry Awards finalists have been officially announced for 2017. With 15% growth on entries from 2016 it is a great result for the event and for the industry. 

Pharma Industry Awards are the benchmark for excellence for those operating in Ireland's pharma industry.


Once again, the PharmaChem industry anxiously await the outcome of the annual awards which will take place on the October 5th at the Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, Dublin. The gala event will celebrate the achievements of the sector over the last 12 months. 

An estimated 500 industry professionals across all areas of pharma, from manufacturing to suppliers will attend this year’s awards making it the most successful event since the awards launched in 2014. Speaking ahead of the night Adam O’Sullivan, Director of Pharma + Healthcare at Kuehne + Nagel Ireland said, “Kuehne + Nagel are delighted to be headline sponsor of the Pharma Industry awards 2017. We strongly felt this was an ideal opportunity to give back to the Pharma industry by celebrating its successes.”

To make the shortlist for the Pharma Industry Awards is a great achievement for all the companies involved. “We are delighted to be shortlisted for this year’s Pharma Industry Awards and look forward to the upcoming event. To be finalists in five different categories is a tremendous honour and an endorsement of AbbVie’s world-class operational talent. This nomination also reflects the enormous efforts of our dedicated employees in making a remarkable impact in the communities across Ireland where AbbVie has a presence,” said Mairead Dunne, Site Director, AbbVie Cork.

The Awards night has grown to be Ireland’s biggest night out for the Pharma Industry and with a new venue, bigger numbers, and more entertainment, the celebration will be a night not to be missed. “Micro-Bio Ireland is delighted to be a long-term sponsor of the Pharma Awards. It is a highly organised event and provides a great platform for companies involved in the Pharma and Biopharma industry to interact,” said Tom Tobin Logistics, Manager at Micro-Bio Ireland

There was a huge volume of entries this year and the calibre of the shortlist shows the excellent innovation and achievements of the Pharma industry over the last 12 months. It is prime example of how Ireland is leading the way in innovation and has become a global hub for the pharmaceutical industry. “Watson-Marlow is very proud to be associated with such a strong field in the Innovation of the Year category at this year’s awards, and we look forward to celebrating with the winners on the big night,” said Denis Coll, Sales Manager – Biopharm, Watson Marlow Fluid Technology Group

The complete shortlist is as follows:
Pharma Company of the Year – Large
Sponsored by Camida
AbbVie in Ireland
Amgen Technology Ireland
Pfizer Grange Castle

Pharma Company of the Year – SME
Sponsored by Kuehne + Nagel Ireland
EirGen Pharma
Meda Rottapharm

Biopharma Company of the Year
Sponsored by Kuehne + Nagel Ireland
AbbVie in Ireland
Amgen Technology Ireland
Sanofi Waterford

Biotech Company of the Year
Sponsored by Micro-Bio
Amgen Technology Ireland
Pfizer Grange Castle
Sanofi Waterford

Pharma Research Centre of the Year
HRB Clinical Research Coordination Ireland 
Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Technology Centre
Synthesis and Solid State Pharmaceutical Centre

Pharma Contract Services Company of the Year
Commissioning Agents Ireland

Pharma Supplier of the Year
Almac Group
Cora Systems
McGee Pharma International
Perigord Data Solutions
Pro Stainless Designs

Pharma Start-up Company of the Year

Pharma Project of the Year – Large
Sponsored by Dawsonrentals
Pharma Investigator - Pfizer Co-Development

Pharma Project of the Year - Small
BMS Global Biologics Laboratory - BMS Cruiserath Biologics 
Cross Site Solvent Recovery Business - Pfizer Ringaskiddy
Meda Rottapharm

Innovation of the Year
Sponsored by Watson Marlow
Advanced Process Control for Low Temperature Reactor - Pfizer Little Island
Meda Rottapharm
Pharma Investigator - Pfizer Ringaskiddy
Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Technology Centre

Operational Excellence Award
Sponsored by GS1 Ireland
KATA Business Coaching Methodology - MSD Carlow
Knowledge Management System - Pfizer Ringaskiddy
Lean Transformation to Full Engagement - Takeda Ireland
Meda Rottapharm
Sanofi Waterford

Health & Safety Award
Sponsored by Ardmac
EHS Visual Management - Ipsen Manufacturing Ireland
Meda Rottapharm 
Site Leadership Cultural Change Programme - Pfizer Ringaskiddy
Slip, Trips and Falls Program - Pfizer Grange Castle
Synthesis 2 Project - Ipsen Manufacturing Ireland
The Bucket List - Astellas Kerry
Zero. Believe it. Achieve it. - AbbVie in Ireland

Export Achievement Award
Almac Group
Kora Healthcare

Communications Award
Sponsored by Lennox Laboratory Supplies
A Story Half Told - Pfizer Healthcare Ireland
Biopharma Ambition - NIBRT, IBEC & IPHA
BMS Cruiserath Biologics 
My Healthcare, My Future – MSD

Research & Development Achievement Award
Sponsored by 3M
Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Technology Centre
SelectAZyme - Almac Group

Partnership Alliance of the Year
(bio)Pharma Ireland - Synthesis and Solid State Pharmaceutical Centre
NIBRT & GE Healthcare
Pfizer Co-Development
Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Technology Centre

Sustainability Initiative of the Year
Sponsored by Indaver Ireland
AbbVie in Ireland
Amgen Technology Ireland
Meda Rottapharm 
Pfizer Little Island
Pfizer Ringaskiddy

Corporate Social Responsibility Programme of the Year
Amgen Foundation Science Education Programmes
Canstruction Event & Alkermes Allegro Choir
Empowering Employees to Make a Remarkable Community Impact - AbbVie in Ireland
GSK Ireland IMPACT Awards
Healthy Town - Pfizer
Pfizer Little Island
WiSTEM2D - Johnson & Johnson

Pharma Education & Training Award
BSc (Hons) in Pharmaceutical Science - Waterford Institute of Technology
Certificate in Biopharmaceutical Processing - Cork Institute of Technology
GetReSkilled Holdings 
Institute of Technology Tallaght
Life Sciences Manufacturing Operations - Cork Training Centre Biopharma Facility
Pharmaceutical MSc Programmes - Dublin Institute of Technology

For more information visit the website www.pharmaawards.ie