King's Inns team wins 'Irish Times' debate competition


The King's Inns team of Mark Murphy and Barry Glynn won the final of The Irish Times debate at NUI, Galway last night, writes Lorna Siggins.

 Diarmuid Early of University College Cork Philosophical Society was selected as the best individual speaker.

The motion for the debate was that "this House believes that history will judge Haughey harshly". The winning team opposed the motion, and the individual winner was also part of the opposition.

Chairman for the final was Senator David Norris, and the adjudicators were Geraldine Kennedy, Editor of The Irish Times (presiding judge), Prof Brent Northup, chair of the communications department at Carroll College, Montana, Dr Iognáid Ó Muircheartaigh, president of NUIG, Kerida Naidoo, barrister-at-law and former convenor of The Irish Times debate, and Aoife Titley, the 2001 individual winner. A full report of the debate will be published on Monday.