Hozier, Daithí and Original Rudeboys on Meteor shortlist

Public to vote for winning song which will be announced at Vicar St on February 27th

Young Irish fiddle player Daithí and The Original Rudeboys are among the ten artists shortlisted for this year's Meteor Choice Music Prize awards.

Ireland’s favourite song of 2013 will be decided by public vote and will be announced at the Meteor Choice music prize live event at Vicar St on February 27th.

The shortlist includes Daithí with his song Chameleon Life and Dublin’s The Original Rudeboys with Never Gonna Walk Away.

The shortlist was compiled from a group of 10 judges and the Irish airplay charts.


Wicklow musician Hozier with his hit Take Me To Church is on the list with Villagers song Nothing Arrived and I am The Cosmos - Look Me In The Eye.

The Strypes with You Can’t Judge a Book by the Cover also made the cut, along with James Vincent McMorrow’s Cavalier, alternative rock band Kodaline’s Brand New Day, Two Door Cinema Club’s Changing of The Seasons and New Jackson’s Sat Around Here Waiting.

Daithí O Dronaí said he did not expect to be nominated.

“It’s really amazing. We worked really hard on the song,” he said.

“A good team effort that worked out really well. It was fun to do.”

The Original Rudeboys' Sean Walsh, known as Walshy, said there was big excitement in the band to be one of the nominees.

“To be nominated for an award is a bit surreal,” he said.

“We’re up against some amazing songs. The Irish industry we try to support each other. It down to the fans at the end of the day.“

The award gives the acts the chance to perform in front of key members of the music industry.

Meteor consumer marketing director Lisa Comerford said the award's aim was to encourage people to discover and discuss Irish music.

“We’re really excited to be celebrating another superb year of Irish music and to bring a spotlight to the very best Irish songs,” she said.

“Get behind your favourite song - every vote counts.”

Voters have the opportunity to win tickets to the live event, which will be broadcast live on Today FM and broadcast on RTÉ on March 2nd.

You can vote on www.facebook.com/meteor or Irish mobiles can text ‘SONG’ to 085 711 4444. Texts cost the standard text rates.

Irish Song of the Year Shortlist

Daithí- Chameleon Life (Sony Music)

Hozier - Take Me To Church (Rubyworks)

I am The Cosmos - Look Me In The Eye (Self Released)

James Vincent McMorrow - Cavalier (Believe Recordings)

Kodaline - Brand New Day (Sony Music)

New Jackson - Sat Around Here Waiting (Hivern Discs)

The Original Rudeboys - Never Gonna Walk Away (Rubyworks)

The Strypes - You Can’t Judge a Book by the Cover (Universal)

Two Door Cinema Club - Changing of The Seasons (Parlophone/Warner Music)

Villagers - Nothing Arrived (Domino)

Rachel Flaherty

Rachel Flaherty

Rachel Flaherty is Digital Features Editor and journalist with The Irish Times