Electric Picnic 2016: LCD Soundsystem, Chemical Brothers announced

Lana Del Rey, New Order, Haim, Jack Garratt and Super Furry Animals also make the September bill

LCD Soundsystem, Lana Del Rey, The Chemical Brothers and New Order are among the first acts announced for this year's Electric Picnic festival.

They join Haim, Super Furry Animals, Savages and Wild Beasts. Jack Garratt returns for the second year running, and Canadian outfit Broken Social Scene are also on the bill, along with Animal Collective, Gavin James and Wild Beasts. This year’s Electric Picnic festival takes place from September 2nd to September 4th.

Headliners LCD Soundsystem had long been predicted, once James Murphy announced news of their reform. Murphy was on site last year with his spectacular Despacio project; getting the band back together in Stradbally is enough to shift thousands of tickets on its own.

The Chemical Brothers are no strangers to Stradbally and typically come with a spectacular stage show. New Order should give them a run for their money. Lana Del Rey will bring a touch of class to proceedings, but one of the best festival sets could come from Haim - they delivered a supercharged set at Longitude in 2014. Expect Savages to also make a play for best guitar band.


Further down the bill there is plenty worth picking over. Expect Nathaniel Rateliff to have a whole lot more fans in Dublin after his show on March 12th; Jack Garratt gets bumped up the EP bill after last year's slot, following the release and hype around Phase. Pantha Du Prince's The Triad project is very, very interesting, while Broken Social Scene have a habit of delivering the sort of chaos that festivals thrive on.

We also fully expect Festival Republic to take advantage of the line-up and build a special zoo-themed tent to house sets by Animal Collective, Wild Beasts, Wolf Alice, Glass Animals and Super Furry Animals.

Expect many more acts to be added in the coming weeks. Radiohead are back touring this year and have already announced concerts in Spain, Iceland, Portugal and Germany, though Ireland has yet to get a date. Arcade Fire also have two European dates in the summer diary.

Tickets for the festival are now on sale from Ticketmaster. com. Some have already sold out, including tickets for family weekend camping, Sunday only, and campervan/caravan tickets.

The full lineup announced so far is:

LCD Soundsystem

Lana Del Rey

The Chemical Brothers

New Order


Super Furry Animals

Years & Years

Todd Terje

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats

Animal Collective

Gavin James

Wolf Alice

The Avett Brothers

Wild Beasts

Glass Animals

Jack Garratt


Pantha Du Prince presents The Triad


Broken Social Scene

Ezra Furman

Mount Kimbie DJ Set

Daniel Avery




Girls Names

Meilyr Jones