Longford relinquish O’Byrne Cup after heavy Dublin defeat

Ciaran Kilkenny lands 0-4 at Pearse Park but win comes at the cost of Paddy Small injury

Dublin 0-16 Longford 0-5

A strong Dublin performance saw O’Byrne Cup holders Longford relinquish their title at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park on Saturday.

With a number of regulars in their side Dublin were in control from start to finish. Longford found the going tough at times but put in a spirited display with several changes being made, by both sides, throughout the 70 plus minutes.

Apart from an injury to Paddy Small, manager Dessie Farrell would've been happy with their first half performance. Ciaran Kilkenny and Ciaran Archer (free) both scored two points as they held a seven point lead at the break: 0-8 to 0-1.

Longford’s only return in the first half was a fine point from Darragh Doherty in the 10th minute. Their keeper Paddy Collum brought off a fine save just before half-time to deny James Doran.

It was more of the same from Dublin in the second half with Lee Gannon, Harry Ladd (2) and sub Ross McGarry among the scorers. Darren Gallgher kicked over two excellent points for Longford with Doherty and Dylan Farrell (free) adding two more.

Longford sub keeper Shane Fitzpatrick denied Dublin Lorcan O’Dell in the 70th minute as Longford kept their goal intact.

Dublin: M Shiel; D Conlon, S MacMahon, S Clayton; K Kennedy (0-1), E Murchan, S Bugler (0-1); T Lahiff (0-1), J McCarthy (0-1); J Doran, C Kilkenny (0-4), B Howard; P Small, A Byrne (0-1), C Archer (0-2, 0-1 free).

Subs: H Ladd (0-2) for Small (21 mins), M Lavin for C Archer (h-t), L Gannon (0-1) for Conlon, S Carthy for Kennedy (both 44 mins), R McGarry (0-1) for Doran (48 mins), E O’Conghaile for McCarthy, A Rafter for Byrne, W Egan (0-1) for McMahon (all 53 mins), L O’Dell for S Bugler (63 mins).

Longford: P Collum; P Fox, R Moffett, B O'Farrell; J Moran, A Farrell, I O'Sullivan; D Gallagher (0-2), D Reynolds; R Smyth, J Hagan, D Doherty (0-2); O Kenny, J Matthews, C Dooner.

Subs: R McNerney for Smyth, K McGeelan for Dooner (both h-t), P Lynn for Moffett, E McCormack for O’Sullivan, P Joyce for Matthews (all 47mins), D O’Connell for Hagan (48 mins), D Farrell (0-1 free) for Doherty (52 mins), S Fitzpatrick for Collum (58 mins), PJ Masterson for O’Farrell, D O’Brien for Reynolds (both 59 mins).

Referee: M Stones (Offaly).

Read More