Council of State: composition


THE COUNCIL of State, which meets on Wednesday for consultations with President Mary McAleese on the constitutionality of two Bills, brings together leading figures from politics and the judiciary, along with personal advisers to the President.

It is made up of the Chief Justice, Mr Justice John Murray; president of the High Court Mr Justice Richard Johnson; Taoiseach Brian Cowen; Tánaiste Mary Coughlan; Attorney General Paul Gallagher SC; former taoisigh Bertie Ahern, Albert Reynolds, John Bruton, Garret FitzGerald and Liam Cosgrave; former president Mary Robinson, former chief justices, Mr Justice Ronan Keane and Mr Justice Thomas Finlay; Ceann Comhairle John O’Donoghue, and Seanad Cathaoirleach Pat Moylan.

The Council of State also consists of seven people who were nominated by the President. They are Col Harvey Bicker, Anastasia Crickley, Mary Davis, Prof Denis Moloney, Senator Martin Mansergh, Enda Marren and Daráine Mulvihill.