Champions decided nationwide


Donegal's Errigal Ciaran have been crowned Ulster Senior Football champions after beating Enniskillen Gaels of Fermanagh 0-8 to 1-3 in Clones today.

In the Munster Senior Hurling Championship, Waterford's Mount Sion narrowly overcame Sixmilebridge of Clare by 0-12 to 0-10, while Offaly's defending All-Ireland champions Birr, saw off Kilkenny's Young Irelands with convincing 2-05 - 1-2 scoreline.

Meanwhile Crossmolina maintained their status as Connacht's best with a 1-11 to 0-10 victory over Strokestown at Hyde Park, to claim their third title in four years.

The rescheduled Leinster quarter-final between Rathnew of Wicklow and UCD was decided by a late Tommy Gill point.

Gill, in fact, scored all of Rathnew's 1-06 in Newbridge.