St Mary's strike early


MUNSTER JFC FINAL St Mary's Caherciveen 2-12 Bruree 0-4:THE OVERALL teamwork, accuracy and ability of the St Mary’s side was the main difference in this one-sided Munster junior football final at Mallow yesterday.

Bruree were hit for two early goals by Austin Constable and Daniel Daly that killed the game as a contest. They were held to a mere two points in each half. By half-time St Mary’s led 2-6 to 0- 2.

Bruree had their two points on the changeover from Gearóid O’Brien and a John O’Brien free.

St Mary’s dictated matters in the last 20 minutes kicking six points on the trot from Aidan Walsh (2), Daly, Bryan Sheehan (free) Ray Keane, and a Constable sideline to run out very easy victors in the end. After the game Munster Council chairman Seán Walsh presented the cup to the winning captain Gearóid O’Driscoll.

ST MARY’S: D Horgan; B Curran, S Curran, G ODriscoll; D O’Sullivan, N O’Driscoll, K Curran; J Golden, B Sheehan (0-4); A Constable (1-2, 0-1 free, 0-1 sideline), R Keane (0-1), A Walsh (0-2); D Daly (1-1), P O’Donoghue (0-1), JA O’Sullivan (0-1). Subs: I Casey for N O’Driscoll, C Quinn for O’Donoghue, L Sheehan for R Keane, D Walsh for A Constable, D Keating for JA O’Sullivan.

BRUREE: G O’Dea; A Sexton, A O’Shea, C Sexton; K O’Rourke, D Lenihan, V Stanton; J O’Dea, J O’Brien (0-1, free); T O’Brien, JV O’Brien, G O’Brien (0-2); P Kelly (0-1, free), J C O’Brien, B O’Rourke. Subs: C Mullane for A Sexton (blood), A Sexton for C Mullane, S Mullane for C Sexton, S Kelly for B O’Rourke, D Deady for G O’Brien, S O’Halloran for A Sexton, N Broderick for P Kelly.

Referee: R Hickey(Clare).