Murphy to replace Higgins as MEP


The Socialist Party has selected Paul Murphy to fill Joe Higgins's seat in the European Parliament.

The party’s first substitute on the list to replace Mr Higgins following his election as a TD in Dublin West, was Cllr Clare Daly. However, she was also elected to the Dáil in Dublin North.

Ruth Coppinger, a councillor from Mulhuddart in west Dublin, was the next available substitute on the list maintained by the European Parliament.

Other party members included on the substitute list included Mick Murphy and Denis Keane.