Childers, Alyward elected in East


Neasa Childers of the Labour Party and outgoing Fianna Fáil MEP Liam Alyward have won the final two seats in the East constituency. 

Outgoing MEP Mairead McGuinness was re-elected last night on the first count with 110,366 first preferences in Ireland East. She exceeded the 107,313 quota with a surplus of 3,053 votes.

Labour¿s Nessa Childers polled second-highest last night with 78,338 first preferences while Fianna Fáil MEP Liam Aylward polled 74,666, and Fine Gael senator John Paul Phelan came in with 61,851.

Both Ms Childers and Mr Aylward were elected this afternoon on the seventh count.

Last night Sinn Féin¿s Kathleen Funchion polled 26,567 with 20,932  on the first count for her running mate Tomás Sharkey. Libertas candidate Raymond O¿Malley polled 18,557.

Mr O¿Malley was eliminated this morning on the third count and Mr Sharkey went out on the following count.

Independents Paddy Garvey, Michael E Grealy and Jim Tallon were eliminated on the first count last night.