Dan Carter and New Zealand take main awards after World Cup win

Michael Cheika rewarded for Australia’s resurgence with coach of the year award

New Zealand outhalf Dan Carter has followed up his man-of-the-match performance in Saturday's World Cup final by being crowned World Rugby player of the year for 2015.

Carter, who kicked 19 points including a sublime drop-goal in the 34-17 victory over Australia at Twickenham, has been recognised with the game's most prestigious individual award for a third time, a mark also held by All Blacks captain Richie McCaw.

The 33-year-old beat New Zealand team-mate Julian Savea, Australia flanker Michael Hooper and number eight David Pocock, Wales secondrow Alun Wyn Jones and Scotland scrumhalf Greig Laidlaw to the accolade.

New Zealand were inevitably named team of the year after becoming the first nation to defend the Webb Ellis Cup on Saturday, triumphing for an unprecedented third time.


Michael Cheika was recognised as coach of the year after inheriting an Australia squad that was beset by disciplinary problems 12 months ago before turning them into World Cup runners-up.

New Zealand wing Nehe Milner-Skudder was named breakthrough player of the year, while World Cup final whistler Nigel Owens took the referee of the year honour.

Ireland secondrow Sophie Spence missed out on the Women's player of the year from the three nomineees, with New Zealand scrumhalf Kendra Cocksedge taking the award.

The winners were selected by an independent panel of judges, chaired by 1999 World Cup-winning captain John Eales and made up of former internationals, media and the current tournament's participating teams.