Mayo to host Derry in preliminary quarter-finals as fixtures details are announced

Connacht champions Galway will play against Monaghan on Saturday, the first of three games that day

Dublin’s Seán Bugler and Jordan Flynn of Mayo in action in Dr Hyde Park during the All-Ireland SFC series. Photograph: Ryan Byrne/Inpho

Mayo will face Derry in the pick of the All-Ireland preliminary quarter-finals next weekend. The draw was made on RTÉ's Morning Ireland on Monday by GAA president Jarlath Burns.

Having fallen just seconds short of defeating Dublin in the final group match on Sunday, Mayo were drawn against league winners Derry, who have endured a terrible championship to date, losing to Donegal, Galway and Armagh but scraping into the last 12 by beating Westmeath on Saturday. The game will take place at 6.30pm on Saturday at MacHale Park

Louth, who finished second to Kerry in their group will play Cork, who slipped from top spot on Saturday after losing to Tyrone, at Grattan Park on Sunday at 3pm.

Galway also had last-minute disappointment at the weekend, conceding an equaliser to Armagh and losing first place in their group. They will be at home to Monaghan, winners against Meath, at Pearse Stadium at 4pm on Saturday.


Tyrone will welcome Roscommon to Healy Park, Omagh for 5pm on Saturday after the counties’ victories over Cork and Cavan, respectively.

The weekend after next, the quarter-finals will take place between the group winners, Armagh, Donegal, Dublin and Kerry and whoever emerges from Monday’s draw.

All-Ireland SFC preliminary quarter-final draw

Saturday, June 22nd

Galway v Monaghan, Pearse Stadium, 4pm

Tyrone v Roscommon, Healy Park, 5pm

Mayo v Derry, MacHale Park, 6.30pm

Sunday, June 23rd

Louth v Cork, Grattan Park, Inniskeen, 3pm

Seán Moran

Seán Moran

Seán Moran is GAA Correspondent of The Irish Times