Supreme and High Court judges appointed


SIX new judges were appointed by the President Mrs Robinson at a ceremony at Aras an Uachtarain yesterday morning.

Three judges were appointed to the Supreme Court, bringing the total number of judges in the court to eight. They were Mr Justice Ronan Keane, Mr Justice Frank Murphy and Mr Justice Kevin Lynch.

Three new appointments were also made to the High Court. Mr Peter Shanley SC, Judge Michael Moriarty, and Mr Peter Kelly SC.

The appointments were the first to be made under the new Court and Court Officers Act.

A further seven appointments to the circuit court and three to the district court are expected in the near future.

The new appointees were introduced to the President by the Taoiseach, Mr Bruton, who was accompanied by the Minister for Justice, Mrs Owen, and the Attorney General, Mr Dermot Gleeson SC.