Referendum Commission established


Minister for the Environment John Gormley has established a Referendum Commission to provide information on the Lisbon Treaty.

The independent body will provide the public with information on the proposed 28th amendment to the Constitution.

The Chief Justice has nominated the Mr Justice Iarfhlaith O'Neill to act as chairman of the commission.

Under the legislation, the other members of the commission are the Comptroller and Auditor General (John Purcell), the Ombudsman (Emily O'Reilly), the clerk of the Dáil (Kieran Coughlan), and the clerk of the Seanad (Deirdre Lane).

The commission is expected to prepare a statement with a general explanation of the subject matter of the referendum proposal on the Reform Treaty.

It must also distribute this to the electorate, promote awareness of the referendum and encourage the electorate to vote.

In addition, the body will consider applications from bodies or groups who wish to be represented at polling stations and the counting of votes.