Mike Fitzpatrick takes over Limerick City of Culture festival

Limerick-based academic and curator takes over on an interim basis

Mike Fitzpatrick, from the Limerick School of Art and Design, is to take on both roles. Photograph: Brenda Fitzsimons.

A Limerick-based academic and curator is taking over the City of Culture festival on an interim basis following the resignations of its chief executive, Patricia Ryan, and artistic director Karl Wallace.

A press conference held today in the Clarion Hotel in Limerick by the board of the Limerick National City of Culture 2014 confirmed that Mike Fitzpatrick, from the Limerick School of Art and Design, is taking over both positions temporarily pending permanent appointments.

In a statement by the board issued today they said “departing CEO, Patricia Ryan, will facilitate a smooth handover to the Interim Head of City of Culture.

“At the end of this interim position, Mike Fitzpatrick will take up a non-executive role on the board of Limerick National City of Culture 2014 when he resumes his post as Head of Limerick School of Art & Design.


“The board wishes to confirm its decision of Friday last to broaden its membership. This will include the nomination of three directors representing the arts and culture community of Limerick.

“One of these will be nominated from the chairpersons of the Pillar Groups of Limerick City of Culture established in February 2013. A second director will be appointed on the advice of the Pillar Groups. The third and final appointment is reserved for Mike Fitzpatrick on completion of his role as Interim Head of City of Culture.

“In addition, following meetings with the elected representatives of Limerick City and County Council, it has been agreed as an immediate step to appoint the Mayor and Cathaoirleach, or their representatives, of the respective authorities to the board.

“The Board wishes also to announce that it has appointed one of its members, Tim O‘Connor, to the new position of Vice Chairman. Tim O‘Connor, from Co. Limerick, is the outgoing Chairman of the Advisory Board of The Gathering Ireland 2013 and a retired senior public servant.”