Shit Robot


From the Cradle to the RaveDFA ***

This is the alias for Dublin-born, New York-based producer Marcus Lambkin, and Shit Robot’s debut is keen to show a fine grasp on width as well as depth. As befits a fully paid-up member of the DFA gang, Lambkin’s lust for electronic music’s earlier life cycles is clearly on show throughout, with nods to brawny disco wig-outs ( Tuff Enuff) and more streamlined tech styles ( Triumph). But while he’s aided by some familiar names (LCD Soundsystem’s James Murphy, Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor, The Juan McLean’s Nancy Whang etc), it’s a much more seasoned vocalist who provides the album highlight, Simple Things. Over a sparse, minimal jacking backdrop, former Nation of Ulysses’ frontman Ian Svenonius gives it paranoid socks about the stresses and strains of modern life before the track explodes into a thoroughly unexpected, delightful hands- in-the-air piano-house classic. See

Download tracks:Simple Things, Tuff Enuff