Placings in union pairs tournament


IN the Irish Bridge Union's simultaneous pairs tournament, played at centres throughout Ireland, the overall top placings were 1, R. Kelly, G. Franks (Dunboyne) 2, P.J. O'Dea, C. McInerney (Shannon) 3, M.E. Hewitt, J. Sweeney (Carndonagh) 4, M. Hynes, K. Murphy (Mullingar) 5, M. Lineen M Radford (Waterford) 6, P. Liston, P. Quinn (Ennis) 7, G. Gillan, E. Dowler (Dunboyne) 8 M. Moloney, M. Hayes (Limerick).

Zonal prizes G. O'Sullivan, M. Philpott (Kanturk) M. Lenihan, E. Scott (Balbriggan) J. Gallagher, P. Bonner (Killaloe) Mrs R. Sharrard, Mrs B. Henry (Belfast) C. Cullen, J. McNelis (Dublin) J. Connolly, W. McGroarty (Killybegs) E. Carroll, T. Fealy (Birr) C. Meaney, M. Walsh (Waterford) G.

Rogerson, K. McDonnell (Coolmine) J. Roughneen, E. Rutledge (Dun Laoghaire) V. McGeough, J. O'Toole (Ballina) F. Swift, H. Peacocke (Newbridge).

The IBU has selected T. Garvey. J. Carroll, C. Burns, and H. Dowling Long to represent Ireland at the European Union junior championships in Ostend, Belgium, in April. That quartet, plus T. Ryan, and S. Udvari, will be the Irish team for the European junior championships in Cardiff in July.

The Contract Bridge Association of Ireland's junior team to play the English Bridge Union in February is Garvey/Carroll, MacCormac and D. O'Keeffe.

Their junior team against the Welsh Bridge Union in May is Ryan/Udvari, F. Langford, L. Mitchell.

From January 19th to 21st the Dublin North festival will be held at the Regency Hotel, Swords Road, Dublin, while the Tralee international congress will be at the Brandon Conference Centre. Dublin brochures N. Dockrell(01 8401110). Tralee brochures B.Brennan (066 23617).

The Waterford congress will be run in Jury's hotel from January 5th to 7th. Entries P. Holden (051 55770).

All Ireland school pairs championship, played in Limerick 1, N. Pierse, R. Griffin (St Michael's, Listowel) 2, B. Cheung, L. Kong (Coleraine Academic Institute) 3, F. McInerney, S. Gilmartin (Laurel Hill, Limerick) 4, J. Byrne, D. O'Brien (CBS, Kilkenny) 5, P.J. Cass, D. Weadick (CBS, Kilkenny) 6, M. Beckwith, L. Madden (Convent of Mercy, Ballinasloe). Consolation final 1, C. Hurley, L. McMeel (Laurel Hill) 2, L. Carroll, D. McGee (Glenstal Abbey) 3, H. Cronin, G. McNamara (Glenstal Abbey).

Munster championships, Thomond Cup 1, L. Dolan, M. Lynch, C. McInerney, Y. Yuan (Limerick) 2, P. Murphy, M.N. O'Connor, M. and N. Kelleher (Fermoy) 3, D. and A. Dillon, M. Coveney, J. Wood (Cork). Desmond Cup E. Morgan, M. Kelly, M. Auchincloss, D. O'Leary (Cork).