Under 21 title for Meath


MEATH captured their sixth Leinster under 21 football championship title, thanks mainly to the greater sharpness of their forwards in yesterday's final against Louth at Parnell Park.

Niall Callan's point in injury time was the only score from play in a first half dogged, by misdirected passes, niggling fouls over robust challenges and more wides than points.

Louth were full value for their 0-5 to 0-2 interval lead but on the resumption, Trevor Giles, the team captain, fuelled the Meath fire with astute distribution from abundant possession at midfield.

After 33 minutes a slip by Louth corner back David Brennan allowed Ollie Murphy to place centre forward Stephen Dillon for a well taken Meath goal. But Louth substitute Hugh Kirk quickly restored his side's lead with a fisted point.

Nigel Regan rifled over Meath's equaliser, before Giles and Peter O'Kane continued their personal battle with pointed frees.

Then, Murphy, substitute Barry O'Callaghan, Richie Kealy and Dillon pounced in turn for an unbroken run of four Meath points. Meath then closed ranks in defence where full back Darren Fay outplayed Louth dangerman Ollie McDonnell.