Shootout drama gives St Pat’s EA Sports Cup glory

Liam Buckley's side emerged victorious from penalties after 120 minutes of stalemate

Galway United 0 St Patrick’s Athletic 0

St Patrick's Athletic goalkeeper Conor O'Malley saved two penalties at Eamonn Deacy Park, as they ended their 12-year wait for the EA Sports Cup victory.

The 21-year-old was fantastic throughout and saved kicks from Jake Keegan and Andy O'Connell to seal the win.

Pat's qualified for the final when they beat Shamrock Rovers, and looked set to lift the cup when Sean Hoare stepped up to his penalty following O'Malley's save from Keegan.


But Conor Winn dived to his right and ensured there would be more drama – however O'Connell couldn't convert for the home side and Ian Morris slotted the winning kick.

It was 0-0 at half-time and both goalkeepers made vital saves to ensure it went to extra-time.

It was the second EA Sports Cup tie in a row that United went through 120 minutes deadlocked.

They had Winn to thank though: he made a miraculous save from James Chambers’ volley in the 78th minute.

Galway could have taken the lead soon after, but when striker Enda Curran curled his free-kick towards the top-corner, Pat’s goalkeeper O’Malley tipped it wide.

O’Malley stretched full length to deny Marc Ludden seven minutes into extra-time and Winn saved from Jamie McGrath.

Curran had a great opportunity to win it for Galway two minutes into the second period of extra-time, but O’Malley smothered the ball at his feet.

Christy Fagan and Killian Cantwell both had big chances, but the game went to penalties and O'Malley's heroics sealed victory for the Saints.

Galway United: Winn; Ludden, Oji (O'Connell, 102), Cantwell, Horgan; Shanahan, Connolly, Sinnott, Molloy (Walsh, 73); Curran (Melody, 112), Keegan.

St Patrick's Athletic: O'Malley; O'Brien, Hoare, Browne, Desmond; Byrne, Brennan (McGrath, 90), Chambers, Greene (Morris, 113); Langley (Fagan, 67), Bolger.

Referee: Paul McLaughlin (Donegal)