Dean Rock helps to guide Ballymun to Dublin SFC win over St Jude’s

Six-point win sees Kickhams reach county final where they’ll face St Vincent’s

Ballymun Kickhams 0-15 St Jude's 0-9: Ballymun Kickhams advanced to the Dublin Senior Football Championship final following a well-deserved six point victory over St Jude's at a blustery Parnell Park last night.

Kevin McManamon opened the scoring for Jude's but a brace of close-in frees by Dean Rock handed Kickhams a narrow advantage by the 10th minute.

Ted Furman scored a brace of impressive points as the half progressed but St Jude's responded admirably through successive points from Ross O'Brien and McManamon. Rock's free-taking helped to keep Ballymun ahead and they led 0-8 to 06 at the interval.

Furman kicked another glorious score within four minutes of the restart which was soon followed up by Rock's fifth and sixth free of the night as the champions stretched clear. Paul Maguire's excellent score proved an isolated success for the Templeogue outfit and they succumbed to late points by Rock and substitute John Small as Ballymun cruised home.

BALLYMUN KICKHAMS: S Currie; S George, P McMahon, Eoin Dolan; A Hubbard, K Connolly, J Burke; Davey Byrne, J McCarthy; E Reilly, D Rock (0-8, seven frees), K Leahy (0-1); A O'Brien, T Furman (0-4), Derek Byrne (0-1). Subs: J Small (0-1) for Reilly (half-time), C Burke for O'Brien (46 mins), F Andrews for Leahy (56 mins).
ST JUDE'S: J Carty; C McBride, G Roche, R Finnegan; N Cronan, C Guckian, T McKeon (0-1); C Murphy, P Cunningham; M Sweeney (0-1), R O'Brien (0-1), R Joyce; D Donnelly, K McManamon (0-5, four frees), P Maguire (0-1). Subs: E Dalton for Sweeney (42 mins), B McManamon for O'Brien (49 mins), G McManus for Murphy (55 mins), Sweeney for Joyce (56 mins), P Buggy for Donnelly (59 mins).
Referee: James King (Garda).